Russia bans Boris Johnson and twelve others from entering country

The Russian Foreign Ministry has banned Prime Minister Boris Johnson and twelve other senior British politicians from entering Russia in retaliation for sanctions amid the Ukraine war.

Mr Johnson is on a list of banned individuals along with Priti Patel, Rishi Sunak, Nicola Sturgeon, Dominic Raab, Liz Truss, Ben Wallace, Grant Shapps, Kwasi Kwarteng, Nadine Dorries, James Heappey, Suella Braverman and Theresa May.

Russia’s Foreign Ministry said the decision was taken because the UK had tried to isolate Russia and “strangle” its economy following the invasion.

It said in a statement that the move was due to the “unprecedented hostile actions” of the British government, referencing the sanctions imposed on Russian senior officials.

It added: “This step was taken as a response to London’s unbridled information and political campaign aimed at isolating Russia internationally, creating conditions for restricting our country and strangling the domestic economy.

“The British leadership is deliberately aggravating the situation surrounding Ukraine, pumping the Kyiv regime with lethal weapons and coordinating similar efforts on the behalf of NATO.”

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.